国际农业科技系统

促进在粮食和农业领域获得科学信息和数据

1974年以来,联合国粮食及农业组织(粮农组织)向其成员国提供支持,通过国际农业科技系统(AGRIS)帮助全球层面的研究成果提升其影响力和扩大其可获得性。AGRIS是在粮食和农业科学文献中最全面的搜索引擎之一,免费提供数以百万计的90种不同语言的书目记录。

AGRIS为国际农业科技系统网络提供便利,支持世界各地多达数百个组织向国际农业科技系统平台贡献知识和数据,是一个多语种的粮食和农业科学研究图书文献集,并且致力于关注在发展中国家产出的科学信息。因此,任何人如有意寻找粮农组织关心领域的文献,皆可使用AGRIS。

AGRIS在粮食和农业科学框架中的作用

在众多粮食和农业领域的科学文献中,AGRIS有其独特之处。例如,灰色文献(非传统商业或学术出版和发行渠道的材料和开展的研究——维基百科)。这些材料很重要,因为期刊文献不一定是唯一的学术交流渠道。AGRIS把收集和捕捉同行评议期刊上发表的文献与灰色文献置于同等的优先度。

其次,在其他科学领域,英语是关键语言,由于在粮食和农业中使用的语言的多样性,有必要考虑多语言和语义策略,作为增加科学文献可获得性的一种方法。AGRIS通过使用多语言农业术语汇编(AGROVOC)在以不同语言提供大量信息和知识的可获得性和可见性方面发挥了关键作用。 目前为止,AGROVOC支持40多种语言。

AGRIS的另一项优先任务是加强对农业绩效的分析,从而为农业投资、创新和政策提供服务,推动农业领域的可持续性变革。

通过AGRIS索引的信息资源

AGRIS目前的索引范围是书籍、期刊文献、专著、图书章节、数据集和灰色文献——包括在粮食和农业领域未发表的科技报告、论文、学位论文和会议论文。

AGRIS对参考书目进行索引,但不存储全文文献。它在“获取全文”旁有一个可点击的图标提供原文链接。这个图标显示在资源页面的描述中屏幕右侧。2010年以前提交的资源可能没有原文链接。在这种情况下,建议直接联系数据提供者,要求获得该资源的电子副本。

 AGRIS网络

AGRIS由数据提供者、合作伙伴和用户组成的社区提供支持。AGRIS吸收该社区提供的图书文献元数据并公布。元数据的获取通过如下两种渠道进行:(a)从客户端获取数据,或(b)直接提交给AGRIS的数据。

AGRIS的愿景是通过促进其全球用户为AGRIS核心知识库及其未来发展做出贡献,为其全球用户的需求提供响应式服务。

AGRIS用户社区的参与以及在技术发展方面的进一步合作对于加强和开发AGRIS门户的新功能极其宝贵。从数据提供者、合作伙伴和用户社区收到的反馈对于AGRIS门户和知识库的改进也非常重要。

注:您并不需要加入AGRIS网络才能使用里面的数据和信息。您可以免费浏览和搜索。只有当您所在的组织希望向AGRIS提供数据和信息时才需要注册。

About

Promoting accessibility of scientific information and digital data in food & agriculture 

Since 1974, the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) has provided support to its member countries to make their research outputs visible and accessible through the International System for Agricultural Science and Technology (AGRIS); one of the most comprehensive search engines in food and agricultural scientific literature providing free access to millions of bibliographic records in 90 different languages.

AGRIS facilitates the AGRIS Network with up to hundreds of organisations worldwide contributing knowledge and data to the AGRIS platform, resulting in a multilingual bibliographic collection of food and agricultural scientific research with special attention to scientific information produced in the global south. Therefore, AGRIS is used by whoever is inclined to find literature on any of FAO’s areas of interest. 

The role of AGRIS in the food and agriculture scientific framework

In the case of scientific literature in food and agriculture, there are certain singularities that make AGRIS unique. For example, grey literature (materials and research produced by organisations outside of the traditional commercial or academic publishing and distribution channels – Wikipedia) is critical, while journal articles are not necessarily the only scholarly communication channel that counts. AGRIS prioritises the collection and harvesting of peer-reviewed and grey literature in equal measure.

Secondly, while in other sciences English is the pivotal language, due to the diversity of languages being used in food and agriculture, it is necessary to consider multilingualism and semantic strategies as a way of increasing accessibility to scientific literature. AGRIS plays a key role in providing accessibility and visibility to enormous quantities of information and knowledge in different languages through the use of AGROVOC; the FAO multilingual thesaurus in more than 40 languages.

Another AGRIS priority is to increase analysis of agricultural performance and, consequently, help inform agricultural investment, innovation and policy to drive changes towards increased sustainability in the agriculture sector. 

Resources indexed by AGRIS

AGRIS is currently indexing books, journal articles, monographs, book chapters, datasets and grey literature – including unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, dissertations and conference papers in the area of food and agriculture.

AGRIS indexes bibliographic references but does not store the full text articles. However, AGRIS includes available links via a clickable icon next to ‘Access the full text’; displayed on the right side of the screen on the description of the resource page. Resources submitted before 2010 might not have the link. In these cases, it is recommended to contact the data provider directly and ask for an electronic copy of the resource. 

The AGRIS Network

AGRIS is supported by a community of data providers, partners and users. AGRIS ingests bibliographic metadata provided by the community and publishes it. The metadata is captured through either (a) pulling data through harvesting from clients or (b) by data submitted directly to AGRIS.

AGRIS’ vision is to be a responsive service to its global users’ needs by facilitating their contribution to the AGRIS core knowledgebase, AGRIS’s future and its continuous development.

The involvement of the AGRIS community of users and further collaboration on technical developments will be invaluable in strengthening and developing new functionalities for the AGRIS portal. Feedback received from the community of data providers, partners and users is important for the possible improvements to the AGRIS portal and the knowledgebase.

Note: you do not need to join the AGRIS Network to use the AGRIS data collection. You can browse and search for free. Registration is only needed if your organisation wants to contribute data to AGRIS.