AGRIS中心—格鲁吉亚

此文件概述了格鲁吉亚食品和农业科技现状和AGRIS在其中起到的作用,以及AGRIS 枢纽在格鲁吉亚开展其工作的经验。

格鲁吉亚粮食和农业科学状况

农业在格鲁吉亚社会和经济可持续发展中一直发挥着关键作用,仍然是该国经济的主要支柱。温和的大陆性气候,冬季短且相对温暖,夏季长且炎热,因此能够实现早播,除了为所有类型的农业生产提供有利的土壤资源和气候条件外,还赋予生产者强大的竞争优势。 

数字图书馆和国家图书馆在从整体上提高对食品安全风险和农业技术的认识方面发挥着关键作用。农业出版物、开放数据和数字平台为评价国家农业政策、粮食体系、农业生态和粮食供应链提供了最佳方法准则。 

全球农业与营养开放数据 AGRIVI智能农业枢纽等组织代表的格鲁吉亚民间社会,在利用科学、技术和创新来实现可持续发展目标以及从冠状病毒病(COVID-19)疫情中可持续和具有抵御力地恢复方面发挥了关键作用。知识驱动的计划和电子学习平台对国家农业以及认可和吸引民间社会组织和社区成为处理此类任务的关键伙伴至关重要。它们需要为部门研究和知识的生成、存储、传播、监测和评价创造需求和问责。图书馆可以促进科学界的联网和交流,并通过支持农业政策的激励措施和必要的改革,推动科学与社会的对话。

在农业中越来越多地使用数字技术可以引发重大变革:改进服务和产品、实现创新、加强决策、提高盈利能力和生产率。农民可以利用创新技术减少浪费,提高粮食链起点的可持续性。在跟踪国家层面的粮食不安全水平时,有必要了解问题程度以及长期趋势。地方区域层面的数据收集、数据汇总和数据所有权对于应对粮食不安全及其影响至关重要。 

在这种背景下,开展农业研究和增强图书馆在数字农业中的作用有多种可能性: 

  • 投资于信息和培训,特别是在家庭农业和农业合作社方面,以增加对新型数字技术的应用; 
  • 确保新的环境友好型农业方法,支持采用能够抵御气候的作物;
  • 进一步研究如何帮助缺水区域的小规模生产者;
  • 将研究类型定位于针对中小型商业农场模式,提高牲畜饲料的数量和质量。 

图书馆和开放数据平台将通过传感器或先进处理站的组合,以自动化方式收集所有必要的数据。对外部来源相关数据处理技术的应用和农民对数据的补充将降低生产成本、优化耕作方法(肥料、灌溉、病原体控制、收获季节、作物对天气条件的生理适应),并证明粮食质量和农业生产可持续性。 

格鲁吉亚农业粮食体系的数字化和创新转型可以表明,数字技术如何通过以下措施来加快农业粮食体系的转型:提高农场效率;增加农民获取产出、投入品和进入金融市场的机会;加强质量控制和可追溯性;改进农业政策的设计和实施。这种转型还可以明确公共部门在最大限度地实现该进程效益方面的关键作用,同时通过以开放数据集、数字平台、数字创业、数字支付系统和数字技能为特征的创新生态系统,以及鼓励采用创新技术,尽可能降低其风险。这一挑战可以在农业咨询服务和推广方面确定并推动有可能广泛传播农业生态方法的新型创新性概念、想法和工具。 

科技信息研究所

1958年,科技信息研究所 根据前格鲁吉亚苏维埃社会主义共和国部长内阁的法令成立,是一个针对科学和技术信息的研究机构。在过去的60年里,其正式名称和法律地位经历了几次修改。1992年,该研究机构成为格鲁吉亚科技信息和技术经济研究所。

1993年,根据格鲁吉亚总理办公室的决议,科技信息研究所得以创立,代表格鲁吉亚参加科技信息会议和国际组织。2006年,格鲁吉亚政府颁布法令,使科技信息研究所成为公法实体,  并在2010年将其作为一个独立的研究机构纳入 格鲁吉亚技术大学。目前,科技信息研究所是格鲁吉亚科技信息领域的领先组织之一。 

科技信息研究所的职责是在国内分享科技信息和知识。它是最大的信息服务提供者,也是一个多学科和跨学科研究机构。它也是格鲁吉亚科技信息系统的主要行动方之一,而农业部门的信息管理是该系统关注的主要议题之一。  

科技信息研究所与AGRIS

科技信息研究所在国内外检索、处理和传播科技信息。它创建了描述科学产品的开放数据库,如研究项目和出版物的结果。所有感兴趣的个人都可以在该研究所的网页上看到和访问这些数据库(科技信息研究所, 2021)。 

2021年,科技信息研究所成为格鲁吉亚AGRIS国家中心。AGRIS是粮食和农业科学文献方面最全面的搜索引擎之一,免费提供90种不同语言的数百万条书目记录。科技信息研究所定期提供农业研究著作的参考文献和注释,涵盖粮农组织在格鲁吉亚关注的所有领域,并将格鲁吉亚科学家的科学著作添至粮农组织AGRIS数据库(粮农组织c,2021)。

AGRIS在格鲁吉亚的相关性

在过去的几十年里,计算和通信技术有了显著的改进,数字网络的发展彻底改变了数据的存储和传播方式。科学和研究成果一直在现代社会的发展中发挥着重要作用,农业也不例外。由于近期爆发的COVID-19疫情严重扰乱了世界各地的农业和粮食供应链系统,获取与农业和粮食有关的科学数据和研究材料变得更加关键。开发支持科学信息和数据可见性和可及性的系统,可视为全世界社会发展的关键指标之一,这也直接促进了全世界人民的福祉和财富。

农业在格鲁吉亚社会和经济可持续性的形成过程中一直发挥着重要作用,并为其经济和社会发展做出了贡献。格鲁吉亚,特别是其科技信息研究所,在传播农业领域科学资源方面积累了广泛的经验。

粮农组织为促进粮食和农业方面的科学信息和数字数据提供了许多工具和平台,AGRIS就是其中之一。自2000年以来,科技信息研究所一直作为一个数据提供中心运作,2021年被提名为格鲁吉亚的AGRIS中心。自那时起,科技信息研究所向AGRIS提供了1000多条书目记录,仅在过去六年就提供了499份文件(见图1)。

Documents provided by TECHINFORMI to AGRIS

图1.科技信息研究所向AGRIS提供的文件资料来源:科技信息研究所,2021 

AGRIS还作为一个平台,将格鲁吉亚学术和研究机构的国内科技信息分享给全世界。AGRIS对直接提高农业部门关键领域的知识水平具有重要影响,这些领域与当今世界环境最为相关。

对于格鲁吉亚的科学家而言,AGRIS是一个很好的平台,可以分享来自当地研究机构、学术界和个体研究人员的国内科学信息,使其在国际提供者索引的高质量结构化书目记录中全球可见并可获得。从数据内容的角度来看,需要强调的是,通过AGRIS可以获得灰色文献(学术论文、会议记录、技术规范和标准、非商业性译文、书目、技术和商业文件)以及未被主要数据库索引的官方文件。AGRIS将收集和获得同行评议文献和灰色文献放在同等重要的位置,为新兴或较冷门研究领域的宝贵信息打开了大门。

能够获得世界粮食和农业领域的灰色文献,使格鲁吉亚的科学家和研究人员能够分析其他来源,也为分享国内灰色文献提供了良好平台。

AGRIS – 获取粮食和农业领域多语言科学文献方面的多样性 

由于粮食和农业领域所使用的语言具有多样性,AGRIS是多语种的。涵盖多种语言是提高科学文献可及性的一个重要因素。这对格鲁吉亚的科学家和研究人员而言是一个特殊的机会。AGRIS通过使用粮农组织的多语种术语词库AGROVOC,为大量不同语言的信息和知识提供了可及性和可见性,该词库可使用有40多种语言,包括格鲁吉亚语。同时,与AGRIS和AGROVOC关键词的互动有助于格鲁吉亚科学家以及硕士生和博士生在未来的科学论文中使用最相关、最新和最正确的术语。 

AGRIS – 数据提供者国际网络和知识交流平台

成为来自150个国家的数据提供者群体的一部分(见图2),使格鲁吉亚受益匪浅,而格鲁吉亚正式参与了粮农组织组织的全球活动和会议。这有利于分享多种观点和方法,并为发展跨文化和国际合作及伙伴关系开辟了新的前景。 

来自众多发展中国家和发达国家的不同数据提供者之间的知识共享将支持格鲁吉亚融入世界上的全球研究合作。

AGRIS – 在全球地图上显示数据提供者活动的工具

AGRIS提供了一个非常有用的工具,并将其纳入该系统界面(机构展示板),使得能够获得包括页面浏览量、按周/月/年划分的国别访问量等统计数据(见图2)、浏览和搜索机构作品集以及按数据提供者过滤内容。在内部和外部监测数据的可发现性和可用性的能力,对于确定差距和优先考虑新的发展领域而言至关重要,旨在促进在国家和全球层面实现可持续发展目标。

Techinformi page views
图2.每月页面浏览量——2020年6月-2021年6月资料来源:粮农组织e,2021。

 

下一步工作

科技信息研究所作为在AGROVOC当中的官方代表和AGRIS国家中心,将继续支持当地教育组织、出版商、编辑和非政府组织,以提高对共享元数据益处的认识。研究所还将重点关注AGRIS和其他国际科学信息数据库相关科学材料的元数据制作要求。研究所不断寻求机会,加强和深化其在格鲁吉亚发展和倡导农业数据和科学的可见性、可及性和可用性的能力。 

2021年,研究所规划了几项活动,以进一步按格鲁吉亚农业领域各前线增加AGRIS信息并提高其知名度、可及性和可用性。其目标是:

  • 通过作为国家中心的科技信息研究所推广AGRIS,以增加格鲁吉亚现有的AGRIS数据提供者的数量;
  • 增加AGRIS文件,并通过其活动进行推广,以帮助当地粮食和农业机构达到并满足质量要求,成为格鲁吉亚的AGRIS数据提供者;
  • 丰富格鲁吉亚对AGRIS的贡献,提供独特灰色文献等材料;
  • 与科技信息研究所网络组织在线讨论,与愿意成为AGRIS数据提供者并就内容编写和质量验证开展培训的当地组织合作;
  • 组织更多关于AGRIS及其在格鲁吉亚益处的在线会议(针对不同目标群体的单独会议);
  • 指导符合条件的合作伙伴加入AGRIS网络;
  • 向现有和潜在组织提供关于提交资源(元数据)信息的建议;
  • 传播和推广有关AGRIS出版物和粮农组织举办的社会活动的信息。

参考文献

FAO.2021a.Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. www.fao.org/ home/en/

FAO. 2021b. Sustainable Development Goals. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/sustainable-development-goals/en/

FAO. 2021c. AGRIS. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agris/

FAO. 2021d. AGRIS data providers. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agris/data-providers

FAO.2021e. AGRIS data providers. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. https://agris.fao.org/agris-search/provider_stats.dotspan=?1y

FAO. 2021f. AGROVOC. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agrovoc/

TECHINFORMI. 2021. The Institute for Scientific and Technical Information [online]. Tbilisi. [Cited 16 July 202] https://techinformi.ge/en/

AGRIS Hubs - Georgia

In this short document, the work and experience of the AGRIS Hub in Georgia is described, along with an overview of food and agricultural science and the role of AGRIS in the country.

Food and agricultural science in Georgia

Agriculture has always played a key role in the development of Georgian social and economic sustainability, remaining the main pillar of the Georgian economy. A moderate continental climate with short and relatively warm winters and long hot summers permits early planting, giving producers a strong competitive advantage in addition to favorable soil resources and climate conditions for all types of agricultural production.

Digital and national libraries play a key role in raising awareness about food safety risks and agricultural technologies in general. Agricultural publications, open data and digital platforms provide the best methodological guidelines for the evaluation of national agricultural policy, food systems, agroecology and the food supply chain.

Civil society in Georgia, represented by organizations such as the Global Open Data for Agriculture and Nutrition (GODAN), AGRIVI and SmartAgriHubs, have a crucial role in using science, technology and innovation to achieve the SDGs and a sustainable and resilient recovery from the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak. The knowledge-driven programmes and e-learning platforms are crucial for national agriculture and for recognizing and engaging civil society organizations and communities as critical partners in handling such tasks. They need to create demand and accountability for sectoral research and knowledge generation, depository, dissemination, monitoring and evaluation. Libraries can facilitate networking and exchanges within scientific communities and foster a science-society dialogue by supporting the incentives for agricultural policies and necessary reforms).

The increasing use of digital technology in agriculture can initiate a major transformation: better services and products, innovations, enhanced decision making and increased profitability and productivity. Farmers can use innovative technologies to reduce waste and increase sustainability at the beginning of the food chain. When tracking the level of food insecurity at the national level, it is necessary to understand the scale of the problem, and trends across time. The data collection, data aggregation and data ownership at the local area level are essential to address food insecurity and its impacts.

In this context, there are various possibilities to perform agricultural research and increase the role of libraries in digital agriculture:

  • invest in information and training, particularly for family farming and agricultural cooperatives, to increase the uptake of new digital technologies;
  • ensure new environmentally friendly farming methods and support the adoption of climate-resilient crops;
  • increase research on how to help small-scale producers in water-scarce regions; and
  • target types of research on improvements in the quantity and quality of livestock feed to small and medium-sized commercial farm models.

The libraries and open data platforms will collect all necessary data in an automated way through the combination of sensors or advanced processing stations. The application of data processing techniques on external sources and the addition of data by farmers will reduce production costs, optimize farming methods (fertilizers, irrigation, pathogen control, harvest season and physiological adaptation of the crop to weather conditions) and certify the quality of food and the sustainability of agricultural production.

The digital and innovative transformation of the agrifood system in Georgia can demonstrate how digital technologies can accelerate the transformation of the agrifood system by increasing efficiency on the farm; improving farmers’ access to output, input and financial markets; strengthening quality control and traceability; and improving the design and delivery of agricultural policies. It can also identify the key role of the public sector in maximizing the benefits of this process, while minimizing its risks through an innovation ecosystem featuring open datasets, digital platforms, digital entrepreneurship, digital payment systems and digital skills – and by encouraging adoption of innovative technologies. This challenge can identify and promote new and innovative concepts, ideas and tools in agricultural advisory services that have the potential to spread agroecological approaches widely.

The Institute for Scientific and Technical Information - (TECHINFORMI)

In 1958, TECHINFORMI was founded under the decree of the Cabinet of Ministers of the former Georgian Soviet Socialist Republic as a research institute for scientific and technical information. Over the past 60 years, its official name and legal status has undergone several modifications. In 1992, it became the Georgian Research Institute for Scientific-Technical Information and Technical-Economic Studies (TECHINFORMI, 2021).

In 1993, under a resolution of the Georgian Prime Minister’s Office, TECHINFORMI was created to represent Georgia at meetings and in international organizations of scientific and technical information. In 2006, the government of Georgia decreed TECHINFORMI be founded as a legal entity of public law, and in 2010 incorporated it as an independent research institution at Georgian Technical University. Today, TECHINFORMI is one of the leading organizations in the fields of scientific and technical information in Georgia.

Its mission is sharing scientific and technical information and knowledge in the country. It is the largest provider of information services, and is a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary research institute. It is also one of the main actors of the scientific and technical information system of Georgia, where information management in the agricultural sector is one of the main topics of interest.

TECHINFORMI and AGRIS

TECHINFORMI retrieves, processes and disseminates scientific and technological information both inside and outside the country. It creates open databases describing scientific products such as the results of research projects and publications. These databases are visible and accessible for all interested individuals on the TECHINFORMI webpage (TECHINFORMI, 2021).

In 2021, TECHINFORMI became an AGRIS Country Hub in Georgia. AGRIS is one of the most comprehensive search engines in food and agricultural scientific literature, providing free access to millions of bibliographic records in 90 different languages. TECHINFORMI is engaged in the regular provision of bibliographic references and annotations of agricultural research works, covering all FAO’s areas of interest in Georgia, and in adding the scientific works of Georgian scientists to the FAO AGRIS database (FAOc, 2021).

Relevance of AGRIS in Georgia

Computing and communications technologies have improved significantly during the last decades, and the development of digital networks have revolutionized the way data are stored and disseminated. Science and research results have always played a significant role in the development of modern society, and agriculture is not an exception. Access to scientific data and research materials related to agriculture and food has become even more crucial due to the recent outbreak of COVID-19, which heavily disrupted agricultural and food supply chain systems around the world. Developing the systems that support the visibility and accessibility of scientific information and data can be considered one of the key indicators of the world’s social development, which also directly contributes to the wellbeing and wealth of the population worldwide.

Agriculture has always played an important role in the formation of Georgian social and economic sustainability, and has contributed to its economic and social development. Georgia, and particularly TECHINFORMI, has accumulated significant experience in the dissemination of scientific resources in the agricultural domain.

FAO offers many tools and platforms for fostering scientific information and digital data on food and agriculture, and AGRIS is one of them. Since 2000, TECHINFORMI has been functioning as a data provider centre and in 2021 it was nominated as the AGRIS Hub in Georgia. Since then it has contributed over 1 000 bibliographic records to AGRIS and 499 documents just in the last six years (see Figure 1).

Documents provided by TECHINFORMI to AGRIS

Figure 1. Documents provided by TECHINFORMI to AGRIS. Source: TECHINFORMI, 2021 

AGRIS also serves as a platform for sharing national scientific and technical information from Georgian academic and research institutions with the world. It has an important impact in increasing the level of knowledge directly in the key domains of the agricultural sector that are considered most relevant in today’s world environment.

For Georgian scientists, AGRIS serves as a great platform for sharing national scientific information from local research institutions, academia and individual researchers, to make it globally visible and available among high-quality structured bibliographic records indexed from international providers. From the data content perspective, it is important to highlight that through AGRIS it is possible to have access to grey literature – academic papers, conference proceedings, technical specifications and standards, non-commercial translations, bibliographies, technical and commercial documentation – and official documents that are not indexed by major databases. AGRIS prioritizes the collection and the harvesting of peer-reviewed and grey literature in equal measure, opening the door to valuable information about emerging or less-popular research areas.

Having access to the world's grey literature in food and agriculture allows Georgian scientists and researchers to analyse alternative sources, and also provides a good platform to share national grey literature.

AGRIS – Diversity in accessing multilingual scientific literature in food and agriculture

Due to the diversity of languages being used in food and agriculture, AGRIS is multilingual. Embracing multilingualism is an important factor in increasing accessibility to scientific literature. It is an exceptional opportunity for Georgian scientists and researchers. AGRIS provides accessibility and visibility to enormous quantities of information and knowledge in different languages through the use of FAO’s multilingual thesaurus AGROVOC (FAOf, 2021), which is available in more than 40 languages, including Georgian. At the same time, interaction with AGRIS and AGROVOC keywords helps Georgian scientists as well as master’s and PhD students to use the most relevant, updated and correct terminology for future scientific papers.

AGRIS – An international network of data providers and a knowledge exchange platform

Being part of a group of data providers from 150 countries (FAOd, 2021) is a considerable benefit for Georgia, which officially participates in the global events and sessions organized by FAO. This facilitates sharing of multiple views and approaches, and provides new opportunities for developing intercultural and international collaboration and partnerships.

Sharing knowledge among different data providers from a huge number of developing and developed countries will support the integration of Georgia into the world’s global research collaboration.

AGRIS – A tool to visualize activity of data providers on the global map

AGRIS offers a very useful tool integrated into the AGRIS interface (institutional dashboard), which provides access to statistics including page views, country visits by week/month/year (see Figure 2), browsing and searching institutional collections, and filtering content by data providers. The ability to monitor data discoverability and usability internally and externally is important for identifying gaps and prioritizing new development areas to contribute to achieving the SDGs in the country and on a global level.

Techinformi page views

Figure 2. Page views per month - June 2020 - June 2021. Source: FAOe, 2021

 

Next steps

TECHINFORMI, as an official representative in AGROVOC and an AGRIS country hub, will continue supporting local educational organizations, publishers, editors and non-governmental organizations to increase awareness on the benefits of sharing metadata. It will also focus on the requirements of metadata production of relevant scientific materials for AGRIS and other international scientific information databases. TECHINFORMI continuously seeks opportunities to enhance and deepen its ability to develop and advocate visibility, accessibility and usability of agricultural data and science in Georgia.

In 2021, TECHINFORMI planned several activities to further increase the information, visibility, accessibility and usability of AGRIS by frontlines in the Georgian agriculture domain. Their goal was to:

  • promote AGRIS through TECHINFORMI as a national hub, to enhance the number of existing AGRIS data providers in Georgia;
  • increase AGRIS documentation and promote it through AGRIS campaigns to help local food and agriculture institutions to meet and satisfy quality requirements to become AGRIS data providers in Georgia;
  • enrich contribution from Georgia to AGRIS with materials like unique grey literature;
  • organize online discussion with the TECHINFORMI network and engage with local organizations willing to become AGRIS data providers, and conduct training on content preparation and quality verification;
  • organize more online sessions (separate sessions with different targeted groups) about AGRIS and its benefits in Georgia;
  • give guidance to eligible partners to join the AGRIS network;
  • offer advice to existing and potential organizations on submitting resource (metadata) information; and
  • disseminate and promote information about AGRIS publications and social events organized by FAO.

References

FAO. 2021a.Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. www.fao.org/ home/en/

FAO. 2021b. Sustainable Development Goals. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/sustainable-development-goals/en/

FAO. 2021c. AGRIS. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agris/

FAO. 2021d. AGRIS data providers. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agris/data-providers

FAO. 2021e. AGRIS data providers. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. https://agris.fao.org/agris-search/provider_stats.dotspan=?1y

FAO. 2021f. AGROVOC. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agrovoc/

TECHINFORMI. 2021. The Institute for Scientific and Technical Information [online]. Tbilisi. [Cited 16 July 202] https://techinformi.ge/en/