粮农组织主页 > 粮食和农业植物遗传资源国际条约 > 概览 > 管理机构 > Chairpersons of the GB

Chairpersons of the Governing Body

The chairperson of the Governing Body of the International Treaty is usually elected at the end of each session for the following period.  This is the list of all the chairs since the first meeting in 2006.

Ms Christine Dawson was elected chairperson of the Eighth Session of the Governing Body on 3 November 2017. Ms Dawson is the director of Office of Conservation and Water in the Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs (OES/ECW), Department of State of the United States of America.

Mr Muhamad Sabran (Indonesia) was elected chair of the Seventh Session of the Governing Body on 8 October 2015. Mr Sabran was a senior researcher at the Indonesian Center for Agricultural Biotechnology and Genetic Resources Research and Development (ICABIOGRD) since 2013. Previously he was deputy director for Collaboration and Public relations at the Indonesian Agency for Agriculture Research and Development (IAARD) and national coordinator of the organization of the Fourth session of the Governing Body in Bali in 2014.

Mr Matthew Worrell (Australia) was elected Chair of the Sixth Session of the Governing Body in 2013. Mr Worrell was at the time the Minister-Counsellor (Agriculture) at the Australian Embassy in Rome and Deputy-Permanent Representative to the UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) and had served on the Bureau of the International Treaty since July 2012, as representative of the South West Pacific Region. 

Mr Javad Mozafari Hashjin (Iran) was elected Chair of the Fifth Session of the Governing Body in 2011.

Ms Cosima Hufler (Austria) was elected Chair of the Fourth Session of the Governing Body in 2009.

Mr Modesto Fernández Díaz-Silveira was the Chair of the Third Session of the Governing Body as of 23 July 2008. In the inter-sessional period, Mr Mwila resigned from this office and, in accordance with Rule II of the Rules of Procedure of the Governing Body, and with the unanimous agreement of the Bureau, Mr Mwila designated Mr Modesto Fernández Díaz-Silveira (Cuba) to act as Chair, as of 23 July 2008.

Mr Godfrey Mwila (Zambia) was elected Chair for the Second Session in 2006.
At its Second Session in 2007, the Governing Body re-elected him for the Third Session.

Mr. Francisco Mombiela Muruzábal (Spain) was elected Chair of the First Governing Body in 2006.

Share this page